New Prime Minister – live: Liz Truss forms new government cabinet

Last update: Tuesday, September 06, 2022, 22:04

Show new updates

Kit Malthouse has been appointed education secretary in Liz Truss’ government.

Mr Malthouse previously served under Boris Johnson as Police and Crme Minister.

Meanwhile, Ranil Jayawardena has been appointed Environment Secretary, while Anne-Marie Trevelyan takes on the role of Transport Secretary.

Former Conservative leadership candidate Kemi Badenoch has been named international trade secretary.

Additionally, Chloe Smith has been appointed Work and Pensions Secretary.

Jacob Rees-Mogg has been named business secretary by Liz Truss.

Mr Rees-Mogg is stepping down as minister for Brexit opportunities.

Meanwhile, Simon Clarke has been given the role of Upgrade Secretary.

Despite a busy day for Liz Truss, the new prime minister found time for her first conversation with a foreign leader.

Ms Truss first spoke to Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky, picking up the mantle Boris Johnson left behind.

Mr Zelensky tweeted: “Became the first foreign leader to have a conversation with the newly elected (UK) Prime Minister @trussliz. Invited her to (Ukraine). Thanked the (British) people for major defense and economic aid for (Ukraine). It is important that (Britain) is prepared to strengthen it further. Attention has been paid to security guarantees.

Alok Sharma was reappointed as Cop26 President.

The MP for Reading West has held the position since 2021 and led the UK in negotiations at the high-profile Cop26 conference in Glasgow last year.

Penny Mordaunt ran a close race against Liz Truss in the Tory leadership race, but she failed just at the final hurdle.

However, Ms Mordaunt did not lose everything, as Ms Truss appointed her Leader of the House of Commons.

Additionally, Ms Mordaunt will also be Lord President of the Council

Nadhim Zahawi has been appointed Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster.

The former Chancellor of the Exchequer will also take on the roles of Minister for Equality and Minister for Intergovernmental Relations.

The next cabinet appointments come in the form of Ben Wallace and Brandon Lewis.

Ben Wallace was reappointed as Secretary of Defense.

Brandon Lewis moves from his position as Northern Ireland Secretary to that of Justice Secretary.

Wendy Morton has been named Chief Whip.

Ms Morton previously served Boris Johnson’s government as transport minister and succeeds Chris Heaton-Harris as chief whip.

Suella Braverman has been appointed Home Secretary by Liz Truss.

Ms Braverman previously served as Attorney General, while she also faced off against Ms Truss at the start of the Tory leadership race.

After dropping out of her race, Ms Braverman backed Ms Truss’ campaign for prime minister.

Previous Meet Rajendra Singh, India's Waterman Who Left a Government Job to Conserve Water Bodies
Next Government law changes to allow faster consent, more prefabs, come into effect